A Year With Luke Skywalker Labuschagne

image

A little bit more than a year ago we decided that it was time to get a puppy. The first question of course was which breed. The guys were all set on a boxer but I have always said that I would love to have a spaniel ever since I watched Lady and the Tramp many years ago. I just felt like it was a good time to make it real.

So a compromise was made. The guys were happy for me to choose the breed of the puppy if they got to decide on a name and I had to be happy with whatever name they chose. Sounds fair to me I thought and the search for a new member of our family began.

I started searching for spaniel puppies on the net and found someone who actually breeds with orange roan spaniels. They were all beautiful! The world is definitely so small as the guy that were selling the puppies was actually someone who works at the same company as my mom. He and his family are such lovely people and that is how we found Luke.

Frans has always been a Star Wars fan and after showing the boys re-runs of all the Star Wars movies they became fans as well and that is how Luke got his name. So I guess when we get a friend for Luke in spring her name will be Leia.

Today is Luke’s very first birthday. We got him a new toy – he loves balls, a big bone to chew on and he had a blueberry muffin which we thought had a bit less sugar than a cupcake with frosting.

Luke is an amazing dog. He is a people dog. He loves to be where we are, he wants to hang out with the boys whether they are watching TV or playing Lego. He fits right in and I am so happy that he is part of our family.

He loves being indoors and outdoors.

He is always busy but he also loves to take naps.

He loves water whether it’s hot or cold.

He has a big bark…

He loves back rubs and tummy rubs and grabs your hand with his mouth or paws if he feels you haven’t rubbed him long enough. I guess he’s kinda like a person sometimes.

Super thankful for this little guy in our lives.

We love you Luke!

Leave a comment